Or Not.

At 10 am I had my follow-up appointment with Dr. Max. I was much more impressed with him this time around and feel sort of bad for rolling my eyes at him in earlier posts.

But the bottom line is that I am officially off the Remicade (immediately) and going on another medication as early as 2 weeks from now. Dr. Max said I have drug-induced Lupus, and that it would be bad to continue on the Remicade. He said it’s rare for it to happen, but that he suspects that’s why I’ve been so achy. I’m to continue the Prednisone at a higher dose for a few weeks until the new drug kicks in.

I left his office feeling frustrated that things seem to keep happening to me, and yet oddly relieved to have some sort of forward-moving action. He thinks I’ll probably go on Humira. During the visit, we called Dr. D on my cell phone and Dr. D agreed with all of this – which made me feel more confident in what Dr. Max was saying. He also gave me a knee (see photo) which was excellent. Love it. It’s cool, it’s part rubber so it moves back and forth.

No kneecaps? No problem!

Anyway – I looked up lupus online and I’m not so sure I understand exactly what it is. Apparently this is relatively temporary and the antibodies causing it will leave my body in a year, but hopefully I’ll feel better before then.

Back at work now, and feeling pretty down. I just feel sad, tired, worn out. I’d like to spend the rest of the day in bed, but I’ll stick around and see if work can jazz me up a little and get me out of this funk. Maybe I’ll just keep playing with my new knee.

Leave a Reply

