Symptoms of Lupus

I found the following symptoms of Lupus on the Lupus Foundation’s website:

  • extreme fatigue (tiredness)
  • headaches
  • painful or swollen joints
  • fever
  • anemia (low numbers of red blood cells or hemoglobin, or low total blood volume)
  • swelling (edema) in feet, legs, hands, and/or around eyes
  • pain in chest on deep breathing (pleurisy)
  • butterfly-shaped rash across cheeks and nose
  • sun- or light-sensitivity (photosensitivity)
  • hair loss
  • abnormal blood clotting
  • fingers turning white and/or blue when cold (Raynaud’s phenomenon)
  • mouth or nose ulcers

Reading through this list, my first reaction is relief that I don’t have many of the symptoms. But I do have fatigue that’s pretty unexplained (yes, I’m a working mom but miraculously I’ve been getting enough sleep) and I definitely have painful joints. I get headaches a lot and always have, but lately I’ve had a few in a row.

What this means to me: HOPE. When there’s a diagnosis, and it seems to fit, I finally again have hope that it can be fixed.

So the Prednisone has started making me wake up early. This morning at 4:30 am I was determined to clean out one of the kitchen cabinets. I also prepped my daughter’s milk for school, and that is where I met up with my arch enemy:

Dum dum dummmmmmm!!

The fear of anyone with joint pain in the hands – the dreaded pull-tab. Drats! It took me a full 5 minutes but I got it off.

I think my joints partly hurt from all the knitting I did over the weekend, so I’m taking a break today. But here’s how my sweater (the Central Park Hoodie pattern) looks so far (I have the back and one side of the front done, and I’m working on the other front side. Next up is the sleeves. It’s supposed to be a hoodie, but I’m going to make it a cardigan.

Leave a Reply

