NPR Story on Parasites and IBD

My friend Carra heard this NPR story over the weekend, and it’s worth checking out if you’re interested in alternative forms of therapy. Apparently, the sort of parasite they used to treat Ulcerative Colitis, called the human whipworm, causes the bowel to produce more mucus, which is essential in good health.

The website also links to this study abstract, which offers more insight into the science part of it. I have to say, I would do this in a second if the FDA approves it.

One response »

  1. I have been following Hook Worm trials here in Australia for treatment of Abdominal Autoimmune. They were trialing a colony of 50 Hook Worms in 13 Celiacs patients in Brisbane, Australia. The researchers became hosts to the Hook Worms to ensure there is supply in case the trial is widened. Hook Worm is meant to attach to the intestinal lining and basically put the immune system to sleep so it doesn’t get attacked. It cant reproduce in the body – so what you are given at the start is what you have at the end. Only real drawback in testing was a bit of anemia. When I went on the Immunosuppresants I was told I had a 60% higher chance of getting Cancer… I think I would prefer the worms and anemia……

Leave a Reply

