WSJ Article: How to Fight a Bogus (Medical) Bill

I had the day off work yesterday, and I just love when that happens. A 3-day weekend, followed by a 4-day work week. Love. I spent the day getting through my to-do list, including cooking meals for the week, a doctor’s appointment, cleaning up the house to get it ready for sale, and mountains of laundry. I took the munchkin to daycare, but only for a few hours – she and I got to spend some extra time together in the morning and afternoon.

But the biggest time suck is my finances. Between tax time and medical bills, I have an ever-growing pile of paper that I have to – but don’t want to – deal with. And this includes a few bills from doctors that were much higher than they should be. An article in this weekend’s Wall Street Journal shows I’m not alone. It says that 14 million Americans have medical bill errors on their credit reports.

Personally, even though I don’t have a lot of free time, I always look over my bills before paying them, and if it’s a little fishy or anytime it’s over $100, I always call them to make sure the bill is correct. Just yesterday I had the doctor’s office double-check my copay and found out not only did they have it wrong, but that they mistakenly had that I owed them money. Ended up being a $60 mistake in all.

Leave a Reply

