Humira Pen vs. Syringe

I saw Dr. Max today, and all is good. We talked briefly about how things are going with Humira, and he suggested that since I’m doing so well on the pen, that I try out the syringe. I have a shaky hand sometimes, so while the pen is great most of the time, if my hand is shaking I can’t use the other hand to steady it because I’m using the other hand to hold my skin for the shot. It hasn’t caused a problem to the point that I can’t inject, but it was still weird enough that I felt I should mention it. He said that the syringe may be a better option, especially since I’m not scared of it.

 

If anyone reading this has had experience with syringe self-injection I’d love to hear about it!

6 responses »

  1. I used the Humira pens and now am using the the Cimzia pre-filled syringes. Even though the basic instructions with syringes say to release the pinched skin once you have the needle inserted, I continue to hold it and slowly release it during the shot for comfort. My at-home training nurse told me that most people prefer to do it this way. I’m not sure what your preference would be, but I guess the syringes would at least give you the option to release. (I think you have this option with the Humira pens too?) My Cimzia injections are supposed to go in at about a 45 degree angle-I’m not sure if the Humira is the same. I actually find it harder to keep my hand steady at this angle than with the pens. On a plus-side, I find self-injecting to be much gentler than using the pens. Good luck!

  2. I don’t hold anything. Just insert and inject. If the angle is right and the alcohol is dried up where you rubbed the skin there is rarely any discomfort. If not it might burn a bit. Regardless it isn’t too bad. Good luck

    • The Humira pen shouldn’t change whether or not you can go to work. It takes about 5 minutes to inject, so it’s quick. And you have to keep it refrigerated but other than that it’s pretty convenient.

Leave a Reply

