Physical Therapy

I lurve my physical therapist. Luuurve.

I was able to get an appointment immediately, because I’ve gone in the past. After my daughter was born, my hips were out of whack. (It’s not easy having a ginormous baby on my tiny frame. Or any frame. Anyway.)

This PT specializes in women, and was able to get me back on track last time. This time around, I’m already having the same positive experience. It’s a different therapist, but it’s the same – caring, capable.

She told me my knee issue is actually my hip issue all over again. She said I need to keep doing my hip exercises for life (I’d kept on for a few years but evenually stopped.)  And most importantly, she told me I WILL be able to run again. Hip hip hooray!

So I’ll be going weekly for a while, as she adjusts and manipulates and basically turns me from a NYC pretzel into a Philly pretzel.  Until then, I’ve started with power walking. Not nearly as therapeutic as running, but better than nothing.

Image from Walgreens.com

Oh and I get to wear a snazzy knee brace while I do it. It’s uncomfortable, but on the plus side it makes me look like even more of a dork keeps me from injuring myself more.

One response »

Leave a Reply

